Home » Detailed CV

Qualifications and Education:
BA (Engineering) from Oxford University (Christ Church), 1970 (converted to MA in 1975. In effect this is a BSc)
M.Phil., Leicester University (History and Phenomenology of Religion) for a part-time research dissertation ‘Initiation in Tibetan Buddhism’ in 1979.

Post-Graduate Certificate in Education (Physics Method), Leicester University School of Education, 1974

Engineering Council Part II Examinations, 1988 (previously known as the CEI Examinations).
Member of the Institute of Translation and Interpreting. (Having been an Associate Member of the Institute Translation and Interpreting since 1998, I was accepted for full membership early in 2001.)

Work and other Experience
From 1970 to 1972 I worked for Marconi Radar Systems, Leicester as Test and Quality Engineer.
After the PGCE was awarded in 1974 I taught Physics and Maths for several years in Leicester, Northamptonshire and Redditch.
In 1985/6 I was head of Physics at the Abbey High School, Redditch, leaving at the end of 1986.
From January 1987 to December 1988 I was a Lecturer in Electronics at Sandwell College of Further and Higher Education, teaching courses in electronics and computing from GCSE up to BTEC HND level.
In the early part of 1989 I did some work as a freelance Design Engineer.
In the summer of 1989 I took up employment with Selcom Ltd. in Birmingham as a Development Engineer.
In August 1990 I moved to Hamburg to work (until 8th October 1996) as a Project Engineer for Schaltex GmbH, working principally on RISC systems for digital image processing.
During this time I was also active as Stellvertretender Vorsitzender (Vice-president) of Kagyu Benchen Ling e.V. (a charitable trust), and for three years was in my spare time the manager of a Summer Camp held in Alsace by that organisation.
In October 1996 I moved to Wales to work full-time as a freelance translator from German to English, since which date my output has amounted to between eight and nine million words. About 75% of my work has been technical, the rest being made up of a range of business and literary pieces.

Over this time I have lived in Ireland, Australia and Italy as well as in the UK.

I am a British citizen.